Lightning Bolt and targeting unconscious characters

This is a rather complicated issue, specifically with unconscious characters. My ruling is a little strange, and I welcome comments to it for the purpose of balance and fun.

Lightning bolt specifically states that both secondary targets are two creatures withing 10 squares – so that includes PCs and monsters. I’d rule that if there was only the wizard and one target within 10 squares you could still use the power, the primary would be the monster and the secondary would be the wizard (ie. yourself) and the remaining secondary target would fizzle. If there was a valid target within range then it would target that as well. In the spirit of not hitting unconscious pc’s I’d say that you wouldn’t be forced to target your own downed characters.

However, if an enemy wizard used it, I would say that unconscious(though not dead) characters were valid targets, though in the spirit of above I would not do so if it was avoidable.

Lightning Bolt Wizard Attack 7
Encounter: Arcane, Implement, Lightning
Standard Action Ranged 10
Primary Target: One creature
Attack: Intelligence vs. Reflex
Hit: 2d6 + Intelligence modifier lightning damage.
Secondary Targets: Two creatures within 10 squares of the primary target
Secondary Attack: Intelligence vs. Reflex
Hit: 1d6 + Intelligence modifier lightning damage.

Lightning Bolt and targeting unconscious characters

Natural20 Tre11is